Introducing new girls to an old one!

• 9 Replies

dilsdaisy

Introducing new girls to an old one!
« on: January 31, 2011, 13:50 »
Hi .. I am a bit of a newbie to Chicken Keeping after inheriting a couple of  3 year old Light Sussex hens and a Cockerel a few months ago ....now thanks to Mr Fox we have one hen and Cockerel is off to his new home at weekend due to being too loud even for our understanding neighbours. so our hen needs some company..
Thing is we are off to look at some new POL's tomorrow but due to work etc can only pick them up in mornings .. we have a large convetrted shed as a chicken house with an attached run , I know it is ideal to place new hens in at dusk but this isn't going to be possible  ..so how do I do it ..can I just pop them in together or is that asking for BIG trouble ??? ....
Thanks for your patience !
1x Light Sussex, 1 x Brahma, 1x Buff Orpington, 2 x cats , 2 x guinea pigs, 4 x kids , 1 x husband

PaulineM

Re: Introducing new girls to an old one!
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2011, 15:30 »
Hi
Welcome to the site  :)
Old fashioned keepers would probably just put them in and let them fight it out.  :(
Most people on here would favour a more gradual introduction.
If you put the newbies in they will probably bully your existing hen  :(
If you can seperate them off even with a some wire fencing or something so they can see each other but not fight. It is also recommended that the new girls should be quarantined for 2 or 3 weeks if possible.
Anti-pecking spray on hand would be very useful as well, Good luck  :)
1 Hubby, 2 children, 2 Welsummers, 1 Leghorn Banty, 1 Wyandotte Banty, 1 Barnevelder, 2 Isa Brown, 1 Rhode Island, 1 Goldline,1 Maran, 2 Mottled Leghorns, 1 Leghorn cockerel & 2 Jack Russells

orchardlady

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2011, 15:39 »