Help - why are my tomato plants dying

• 7 Replies

dawninspain

« on: June 10, 2007, 11:29 »
Several of our tomato plants have shrivelled up and died seemingly overnight - the only thing we have done recently is to dress the ground around the plants with an organic feed which we have done other years with no ill effects. Photos below:

This is the analysis of the feed:

We have scraped away the remainder of the dressing and watered well this morning but some of the lower leaves on the larger plants seem to be going to the same way.

What could be the problem, was it the feed? Is there anything we can do - I don't want to loose all our plants.

Dawn

WG.

« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 11:58 »
I'm no tomato expert, Dawn, but if it did happen as quickly as that, I'd be suspecting root disturbance or attack.   Any chance you could carefully dig up the worst affected plant to see if the roots look okay?

Incidentally I loved the analysis on the compost ... "Humidity 35%"  :!:

SkipRat

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 14:58 »
Tend to agree with WG, did you fork the dressing in or just spread around plants?
I used to work in a helium gas factory, but I walked out, no one talks to me like that.

dawninspain

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 21:46 »
Hello - I dug up a plant and the roots seem fine. When you snap the stem it looks green and healthy inside. The dressing was spread around carefully not dug in.

I am wondering if I planted them deep enough and the weather hotting up here recently has stressed the plants beyond what they can tolerate.

I hope we don't lose anymore......

WG.

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 21:56 »