Plants dying

• 14 Replies

montygti

Plants dying
« on: May 15, 2012, 20:49 »
This is my first attempt since getting my allotment. Ive planted some seeds and bought one of those ittle greenhouses from wilkos. First the runners and marrows got eaten by blooming snails, then the sweetcorn grew and then just died and now the tomatoes are doing the same. They seem to rot where they meet the compost. I know im doing something wrong but what. Is the compost just too damp or am i over watering it. Is there somethng i can mix with the compost so it doesnt go so damp. At this rate im going to have nothing to plant out when the weather improves. Help 

AlaninCarlisle

Re: Plants dying
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2012, 20:56 »
I suspect you're doing nothing other than that which many of us did. You thought warm weather was with us and the cold is killing off your plants
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 20:58 by AlaninCarlisle »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2012, 21:29 »
Where are you growing them?

If they are rotting off at the point they meet the compost, that does sound rather like damping off disease - a fungal disease caused by compost which is too wet, as a general rule.

Water the compost before you sow the seeds.  Then don't water again unless it's really quite dry.

Also, if they are too cold then the risk of damping off is greater, plus some plants won't grow if it's too cold anyway.

It's too early to be putting runners / tomatoes / sweetcorn in the little poly greenhouse.  They should be indoors where the minimum temperature is over 10 degrees both day and night.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Trillium

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2012, 21:43 »