Tomato problems - please help!

• 18 Replies

russellcm

Tomato problems - please help!
« on: August 07, 2012, 22:59 »
Hi,

I’m pretty new to this growing lark having taken on an allotment plot about 9 months ago. Until today  was quite happy with how my tomato plants were doing, they have plenty of fruit on them although none have ripened yet. However today I noticed dark blotches on the stems, some of the leaves and some of the tomatoes. Gutted.  :(

There are about 22 (4 different types) plants all in the same area. Tomatoes weren’t grown there last year. I’ve attached a photo, please take a look and help a novice!

I have several questions:
1. What is the disease?
2. How should I treat it?
3. Should I dig up the affected plants (currently about 5 or 6)?
4. Has the wet summer contributed to this?
5. I’ve been a bit slack and left a big bag of rotting weeds close to the plants – could this have contributed?

If you are able to answer any of the above that would be great.

Thanks in advance

Russell
troubledtoms.JPG

russellcm

Re: Tomato problems - please help!
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2012, 23:06 »
Here's another pic.

Thanks
troubledtoms3.JPG

viettaclark

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2012, 01:44 »
I'm afraid it's late blight Russel.
Dig up the affected plants and burn or put in a sealed black bag in the sun until it's all dead and rotting. Be careful not to shake the plants too much and get them away and contained asap. Any unaffected fruit could be brought in and ripened on a window sill but immediately bin any that develop the brown patches.
If you have plants that are clear at the moment keep a watchful eye on them (every day....blight spreads very fast!) and if leaves develop the tell-tale marks snip them off immediately and bin them, Stalks are more difficult and you might have to bin more plants if you can't cut it out.