Documentary on allotments in London

• 8 Replies

sbearman

Documentary on allotments in London
« on: June 18, 2012, 19:20 »
Dear all,

I am a university student from the United States coming to London from June 23-July 23 to film a short documentary on allotments in London. I have received a grant from my alma mater to film in the UK on this topic. I am interested in the history of allotments, in the dedication given to these plots of land, and in the problems currently associated with allotments (long waiting lists, varying prices depending on district, etc.) Instead of a large-scale project, I am interested in discovering one site that will allow me to focus, trusting that the overarching issues I named above will emerge and likely transform through the process of filming.

As such, I am looking to choose one allotment site to film at and will likely focus on just one plot or the relationship between two allotment plots that are side by side. I would also be interested in filming two allotments in completely different areas of the city, where the connection between the two is that they are owned by different generations of the same family.

If you have a story that you would like to tell or think you would be interested in having me spend time at your allotment plot this summer, please let me know within the forum or respond personally at <sbearman@college.harvard.edu>. I will be spending the first week after my arrival visiting different locations and would appreciate any suggestions sent my way about allotment plots, big or small, that would be interesting for me to visit given my filming desires. If you are not interested, but can think of someone who may be, please let me know as well. Feel free to email generally with comments or questions.

Best,
Sophie

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: Documentary on allotments in London
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2012, 20:34 »
This request for research help has been authorised by Admin.

hamstergbert