New asparagus bed/lasagne bed

• 11 Replies

shokkyy

• Mishka
New asparagus bed/lasagne bed
« on: May 04, 2012, 21:02 »
I've decided that none of my existing beds are ideal for planting asparagus, either because of soil depth or shade, so I'm going to reclaim another piece of lawn to make a new bed. As it happens, we've just renovated an old barn so I've got some ancient oak beams which would be perfect for borders. We're on clay, which is incredibly hard to dig into, particularly when it's a compacted lawn, so I'm taken with the idea of trying out a lasagne bed approach to make the bed. I've never done a lasagne bed before, nor have I grown asparagus before, so I have a few questions.

Is there still time to plant asparagus crowns this year, or better to prepare the bed now and wait for next year to plant?

Will asparagus crowns plant straight into a new lasagne bed, or better to wait till it's completely rotted down? I'm planning to use mainly fresh manure and dead/half rotted leaves or newspaper for the layers, but would asparagus mind the manure?

How many crowns/how much space would be best to feed two people?

I'm sure I'll think of more things I don't know, but if anyone can help with these queries that would be great.

Trillium

Re: New asparagus bed/lasagne bed
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 23:57 »
There's a very good article about lasagna gardening here.

According to the writer, they planted their crops immediately, but do note that any manure was not fresh manure. Asparagus prefer the soil a bit sweet so some lime would help as you layer.

Hard to say how many plants as it depends on how often you hope to eat asparagus. The plantings would be 2 ft apart in every direction as they produce massive roots. At a guesstimate, I'd say you should go for at least 20 - 25 crowns. There will always be some failures, and if not, then you can always trade for something you do want. Few people will refuse asparagus.

hightide

• Experienced Member