death by chilli

• 23 Replies

flowergirl

death by chilli
« on: August 03, 2007, 14:56 »
ok i know im new to this lark and very keen to see stuff developing but i didnt realise i was stupid too. yesterday went to the plot to do some routine watering and general pottering and my daughter pointed out that the chillies werent changing colour(some green some black) so i thought "i will try one of the green ones" being cautious i broke off about 1/2 a centimeter and popped it in my mouth then.....OH MY GOD IM GOING TO DIE!!my lips,tounge and throat were on fire,my mouth and eyes were watering like a running tap and my "loving" daughter was wetting herself as i staggered around my plot thinking i was gonna go blind!thankfully after about 5 minutes eveything went numb so no more pain!that'll learn me not to be so dam impatient! :shock:

Oscar Too

death by chilli
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2007, 15:22 »
Capsiacin, the hot active ingredient in chilli, is fat soluble, so if this happen unexpectedly, a swishing a gulp of milk around your mouth will help.

It's also slightly acidic, so a weak solution of bicarb of soda will wash it off any mucous membranes or eyes.  I had to do this once when my gf got a squirt in her eye.

jacnal

• http://jacnal.blogspot.com/
death by chilli
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2007, 16:30 »
:lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :roll:

I learnt from a very young age that any kind of hot pepper is not to be *tasted*, even in the smallest amount. We used to have a small bush with the littlest, cutest innocent looking chillies, and to date, I believe thy're the hottest as well. My mean cousin tricked us into tasting them out. It was 15 years ago, but I still remember the exact time, place and feeling of *I'm gonna die*, lol! Even my brain was tickled by the chilli  :roll: . And, I still love chilli, lol!  :shock:
Jac

Trying organic gardening. Hoping to stick to it.

Boothy

• Experienced Member
death by chilli
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2007, 17:07 »