Welcome To 'The Plot Of Death'

• 20 Replies

erainn

• Experienced Member
Welcome To 'The Plot Of Death'
« on: July 15, 2012, 15:02 »
A nightmare second year as a plot holder, winds and rain have destroyed seed and plants, any that survived are stunted and showing no crop, dwarf french beans in particular, mange tout producing but not in any great number. Meanwhile courgette and squash attacked beyond saving by slugs, who seem to be the only creature in the country enjoying the constant downpours.

All that's left are leeks and a few carrots, very disillusioned novice here :(

Now I am wondering what to do with some Purple Sprouting Broccoli still potted in my garden and a solitary squash in a pot, dare I risk transferring them to the 'plot of death',or is thee an alternative option in which their success is more likely? Experiences and advice most welcome.

Nikkithefoot

Re: Welcome To 'The Plot Of Death'
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 15:50 »
I think everyone is struggling this year, so don't get too down hearted.

Can you use a growbag and keep it sheltered at home in a greenhouse or conservatory? You could try building a cloche around it on the plot to keep it warm.
The broccili won't produce until next spring, and if you don't get it in the ground now it will remain stunted. Again can you rig some shelter around it?
I was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things; right now I am so far behind I will never die.

Goosegirl

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2012, 16:30 »