Why aren't you getting young people involved?!

• 27 Replies

Jamie Butterworth

• Young Gardener at Chelsea Flower Show - 2014, 2015
  • BBC3 Young Gardener Of The Year 2011 - Finalist
    • Jamie Butterworth
Re: Why aren't you getting young people involved?!
« Reply #15 on: June 14, 2010, 21:38 »
I started growing my own veg when i was 10ish, but have never realy had a club or somewhere to do it with a group of people like myself ::)
If you want to be happy for a short time - get drunk.

If you want to be happy for a long time - fall in love.

If you want to be happy forever - take up gardening!

mebanana

• Waiting on an allotment!
    • PubQuizzy
« Reply #16 on: June 14, 2010, 21:51 »
I am a primary school teacher in an inner-city school and I agree that it is so important to start growing projects with the children.  Sadly, as this is only my first year teaching and I was on a temporary contract my position, like so many others, has been cut.  But if (hopefully when!) I find a new job I will remember your kind offer as wherever I go I'll be promoting grow your own!

twiggy-pea-sticks

« Reply #17 on: June 14, 2010, 23:11 »
My boy is 5 and we have just got our first ever allotment.  He has his own set of tools, even a little spade and has his own patch.  So far he's planted pumpkins, parsnips and what he calls his prize winning onions :)  The last two years we've had a little greenohuse at  home and he has grown salad, tomatoes and cucumber.  He planted his first tomato seeds when he was 2 and a half.  Start them young, that's what I say :) His little village school has just got their own allotment too and the children love visiting.

zazen999

« Reply #18 on: June 15, 2010, 07:08 »
Interesting Thread Irene.