Please Help urgently!!! Chicken Troubles

• 15 Replies

Rugg1ero

« on: June 03, 2007, 22:35 »
Hi Everyone this is my first ever post, the truth is I logged on here to help my mum we have 6 chickens have been with us a few months now and to be honest my mum loves animals to bits which leads me to my next point!!

one of our ginger Chickens has been ill now for the last 5 days and its crushing my mum inside i can tell i have done some much research but cant find the answer :(

Basically for the last 5 days the chicken has not been eating at all well and barely drinks unless we aid its stools have been long hard and dangling from its anus sorry i know this is graphic but its really spaced out too not very responsive to much just wonders and does its own thing, we put food in front of it separately have tried everything just seems so bad maybe a virus i have no idea

i am no expert hence i really need the advice please help this means so much to my mum she’s a animal lover like no other these are her pride and joy if this one dies i cant bear to see my mums reaction

Thanks Everyone Dan 19 years old

Garderner Rhys

« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2007, 22:44 »
Hi, i have some chickens at this time like that and i am thinking of putting them out of there misery too stop the disease spreading. I am not saying that this is the best thing to do but it is the best for the hen itself and the other hens just incase it spreads and kills all the other hens.
RHYS O'HARE

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2007, 22:49 »
Hi Dan Welcome to the forums.

The poor hen seems to be poorley.  It is very importaint that she drinks water, and if she isn't you must syringe about 10ml at a time into her beak a little at a time giving her time to swallow.