Earthing up

• 16 Replies

Charlie's Chickens

• Experienced Member
Earthing up
« on: February 23, 2009, 19:04 »
Hi,

I am a newbie to potatoe planting and indeed veg growing in general, so I apologise in advance as I shall be visitng here with loads of questions over the coming months  :ohmy

Q - How many times do I 'earth up' potatoes.  I am looking to grow some in the ground and some in 3 new dustbins I have.

Thanks

Emma
Emma

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
Re: Earthing up
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 19:58 »
I only earth up my potatoes if I feel like the excercise. It is supposed to stop the tubers from going green, but I have not noticed any difference between earthed up or not earthed up. Earthing up also gets rid of weeds between the rows.
I have never done it more than once. Do what you want and don't worry about it too much. enjoy your spuds.

woodburner

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2009, 20:18 »
I've seen some really horribly green potatoes lying on the surface of the ground, where the plants had not been earthed up.
Some of  my own, no-dig potatoes got a bit green where the covering had got disturbed by roaming chooks, and I hadn't noticed til it was too late.

Maybe azubah got away with not earthing up by planting deeply?
I demand the right to buy seed of varieties that are not "distinct, uniform and stable".

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2009, 20:21 »
I plant and make a small mound.  When the leaves show I earth up again. 
Cheese makes everything better.

Charlie's Chickens

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2009, 21:44 »
Thank you for your replies.

I am still not sure I really undertsand why  :blush:

Is it because the tubers grow close to the leaves and need dark to stop them going green, therefore building up the earth forces the stem/leaves to grow upwards leaving the tubers in the dark?????