Earthing Up!

• 18 Replies

Welsh Merf

Earthing Up!
« on: April 20, 2013, 10:20 »
I have asked this question to a lot of people on the allotments, and the answer seems to be equally divided. So let's see what you people have to say:

I have just planted my seed potatoes yesterday afternoon. I did not earth-up, leaving the ground flat instead, until the plants come through. Some people say that it is the right thing to do, others say that I should earth-up from the start.

Also, somebody told me that I shold have put slug-pellets in the trench, along with the seed-potatoes. I've never done this before (although, it's been decades since I last grew anything!).

Your comments and advice much appreciated, as usual!
I may be Welsh, but I love ewe anyway!

See my diary pages here

and add a comment here

Growing4mykids

• Many a mickle makes a muckle
Re: Earthing Up!
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 10:36 »
Hi, i'd heard the same but i left my ground flat and will earth up as they come through a few inch, and i'd read somewhere about the slug pellets, yet i didn't do that either!! Be interesting to hear what people think  :)
It's like a jungle sometimes, it makes me wonder how i keep from going under......

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 10:39 »
I plant my spuds in a spade-depth trench, so the spuds are around 6" deep initially and have a mound of excavated soil alongside them. 6" is deep enough to keep the tubers safe underground but doesn't give them too much work to do to reach the surface

The mound is used for the first earthing up, usually when the shoots are a few inches above the ground, but before that if frost is forecast. The second earthing up takes place when the growth is more established and hopefully frosts are over.

At the end of it all the soil has been disturbed at least twice, which, together with the canopy of leaves, is the reason spuds are regarded as a good crop for newly cultivated ground as it deters the growth of weeds.