Chilli growing

• 34 Replies

Loftuz

Chilli growing
« on: February 07, 2013, 07:14 »
Just wondering if there any chilli lovers on this forum? I've been growing chillies now for around 4 years with some success.
I'm really into supper hot chillies such as the Bhut Jolkia and the Spanish naga.
I'm late sowing my seeds this year. Normally start the Chinese varieties off in January to give a long growing season.
Anyone got any advice that might come in handy?

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: Chilli growing
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 07:52 »
Make sure the seedlings get enought light at this time in the year, so that they do not etiolated

There are elots of members who grow chillis so I expect there will be lots of advice  :nowink:
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Yana

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 08:02 »
I grow chillies each year Loftuz, but have had differing success. I don't go for the really hot ones, I much prefer to have ones of differing shapes, sizes and colours.
I start them off in January, staggering the sowing over a few weeks (put some in the propagator earlier this week), and the when big enough to transplant, use the polystyrene trays from Potty Innovations as this insulates them and keeps them warmer indoors. They go onto a really well lit windowsill, turned every day (but i also put foil behind the trays so any sunlight is reflected and this helps stop the plants bending) and then transplanted to individual pots when about 4" high. When the weather warms up, into the greenhouse and final pots on the staging or into the soil in the greenhouse.
Last year wasn't that good, maybe lack of sunlight. The year before was amazing. I have never tried over wintering chillies, but by all accounts this can be done.
That's my experience.
I have my own cement mixer and not afraid to use it!!

surbie100