First broody hen experience...

• 13 Replies

Hen 1-0 Fox

• Experienced Member
First broody hen experience...
« on: August 16, 2012, 16:42 »
So, my silver Sussex decided to sit in the nest box early last night.... No big deal, I wake up after a night shift and at 1500 today she's still in the box. At first I think she may be laying an extra egg or something but my curiosity gets the better of me. I open up the nest box and there she is... In a trance sat on four eggs... Oh dear. I equip myself with thick gardening gloves and go in, she aims a couple of well placed pecks and makes more noise than I've ever heard before... I'm not deterred. I take the eggs and gently guide her towards the door of the coop, exiting of her own accord... She makes a racket then gets stuck into her food and free ranges rather than heading back in... Phew!

As I'm a novice keeper and this was my first experience, my girls are approx 5months old, anything u should have done differently? Many thanks for any feedback

Andy
x1 Light Sussex x1 Black Rock x1 Bluebell x1 Silver Sussex

Hen 1-0 Fox

• Experienced Member
Re: First broody hen experience...
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 17:24 »
One hour later and she's back in  :(

Have decided to block off the nest boxes during the day time to try and snap he our of it.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2012, 17:31 by Hen 1-0 Fox »

jhub

• jane
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2012, 19:05 »
If that doesn't work you could consider caging her.  See here for advice
http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=71657.0

Hen 1-0 Fox

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2012, 21:08 »
Thanks for the link... Will let you know how we get on

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 21:25 »
Doesn't that seem a bit young for a broody?  Have no experience of how young they usually are but 5 months old!!!  :ohmy:
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!