Planning for over winter & early spring crops help needed pls

• 17 Replies

Stratts

• Experienced Member
I know it may be early but I am trying to think ahead on the plot this year so I have as much growing over winter and into early spring next year.  Last year I missed out as I got the plot about June and was a complete novice.

What sort of thing should I be looking at growing that will give me some return and when do you put them in??

I'll pretty much be filling up my plot with summer/autumn stuff soon and can't get my head around when to sow/plant out stuff for winter!

Cheers

angelavdavis

• Winner - Prettiest Pumpkin 2012
  • An allotment glutton!
    • The Allotment Glutton
You are not too early with some crops - you may be a little late with some!

You want to be looking at:

-Leeks - asap (almost a bit late!)
-Purple Sprouting broccolli (autumn and winter varieties but stagger plantings - do one autumn, leave for a bit then repeat and same for winter so you continue picking).
-Kale - now
-Chard - now
-Cabbages - now but again stagger plantings so you get various maturing instead of having 12 cabbages all ready at the same time.
-Brussel sprouts - as for cabbages
-Parsnips - as for cabbages, although will store.
-Swede - from now onwards
-Winter squashes - from now and will store.
-Main crop to store

I am sure some of the experts will come along and advise further....
Read about my allotment exploits at Ecodolly at plots 37 & 39.  Questions, queries and comments are appreciated at Comment on Ecodolly's exploits on plots 37 & 39

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
A sowing of carrots (Autumn King 2) around September is useful, as is spinach sown then

Autumn onion sets, shallots and garlic overwinter too
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Stratts

• Experienced Member