Idiots Guide TO Raspberries & Blackcurrants?

• 11 Replies

PembsPanther

• Experienced Member
Idiots Guide TO Raspberries & Blackcurrants?
« on: April 12, 2012, 11:04 »
Morning All :)

Right just been to my local "discount" shop and they had some raspberry plants / bushes and blackcurrant bushes reduced to £1! Could not resist so got 3 raspberry and 2 blackcurrant and may go back for a few more tomorrow. Problem is I have no idea what to do with them  :blink:

From reading other threads it seems they will need support as they grow, are they best potted in the ground or will pots do the job? Best food? Anything I need to be doing to them? I am new to growing so please excuse all the questions I just want to make sure I get it right :)

Thanks in advance

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Idiots Guide TO Raspberries & Blackcurrants?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 12:43 »
Do you know which varieties of raspberries you have PP as there are differences between the growing systems for summer and autumn fruiting ones. 

Blackcurrants grow as a free standing shrub so need to put up supports.

Both will be better in the ground and plant with plenty of homemade compost or well rotted manure as all soft fruit plants are greedy feeders  :)

PembsPanther

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 12:47 »
Hello Thanks for taking the time to reply, the raspberries say  rubus idaeus which from what I can gather from Dr Google is basically raspberry in latin so not too much help there so they are basically unidentified...........

They look like 2 or 3 twigs about 6-8 inches high with a root system in a plastic bag, they look dead as a door nail to me but the lady in the shop was adamant they are fine.

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 13:10 »
Hhhhmmmmmmm  Should be shooting leaves out by now PP so you may be right.

I'd stick them in a pot and see if they do grow before going to the trouble of building supports for them  :)

DD.