Plastic bottles for watering

• 16 Replies

shokkyy

• Mishka
Plastic bottles for watering
« on: April 07, 2012, 12:45 »
Since I can't use a hose this year, I want to try the upended pop bottle thing to water at least the bigger thirsty plants like courgette and squash. I've never used this trick before, and was wondering whether you need to do anything to slow the water down, or just pour it in the top and let it run straight through.

mattwragg94

Re: Plastic bottles for watering
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2012, 12:47 »
i suppose you could keep the bottle top on and then prick the bottle with pins ?- which would release the water more slowly - giving the plant a chance to soak it up

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2012, 12:50 »
I bought a couple of things that you push into the bottle neck to slow the water down, but they don't work! So I just water straight into a bottle now when I do use them.

I think the idea is just to get the water underneath and straight to the roots.  We've also got some old down pipe here which I'm going to ask Brian if I can nick, I think they might be easier to bury than a more flimsy bottle.

Agatha

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2012, 12:50 »
I mulch round mine with cardboard followed by grass clippings which helps to keep the moisture in.
'The love of gardening is a seed that once sown never dies, but always grows and grows to an enduring and ever-increasing source of happiness.'  Gertrude Jekyll

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2012, 13:05 »
I use a piece of old washing up scourer plastic foam stuffed into the neck of the bottle, then push a thin stick through from inside the bottle into the soil to hold it upright.

Works OK most of the time (if it drains out too quickly I chuck a bit of soil in to plug the "leaks"!)  :)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!