planting grape vines

• 10 Replies

sonnycbr

• Experienced Member
planting grape vines
« on: July 19, 2011, 18:23 »
Hi everyone, I have 3 Black Hamburg vines that I took as cuttings a few months ago, they are about 2 feet tall and growing very well. I am thinking of planting one in each of my 2 polytunnels and the last one in my greenhouse. For various reasons, it would be very difficult to plant them outside and then train them indoors, so I am going to plant them straight indoors. Are there any real disadvantages to this method, I would hate to train them for a few years and have to take them out. Also, when is the right time to plant them?

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
Re: planting grape vines
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2011, 21:00 »
Hi sonnycbr,

I'm no expert but I think it sounds perfectly reasonable to do this but the main thing you will need to do is have enough sturdy support in the poly and greenhouse and to check them periodically in case the poly ones are threatening to burst through the poly plastic.

Other than preparing their beds well and keeping them moist I think they should do really well.  I know an old fella on my allotments who has a white grape in his greenhouse and he can't now get into it because it grew so big and has blocked the doorway! :lol:

SUTTY1

• Pumpkin Champion 2010 / Super Winner of the Tallest Sunflower Competition 2011
  • Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2011, 21:20 »
rhs suggest planting in early autumn to early spring.(dormant period)
I've got black hamburg planted in my greenhouse, about 5yrs now. As already said eventual weught of crop should be considered. Even thinning mine back quite hard i must have 80plus large bunches on the 1 plant.

m1ckz

« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2011, 06:56 »
yes  very strong supports, they get very heavy when fully loaded

sonnycbr

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2011, 16:18 »