Who has got their squash and courgettes in the open?

• 90 Replies

Robster

I have 4 squash plants out in the warmest place I have with plastic cloche protection if need be.  The remainder to go out this weekend forecast for night time 7 degrees (East Anglia).  Has anyone else got there stuff out.  Am I risking it?

Dotty

Re: Who has got their squash and courgettes in the open?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2011, 14:52 »
Hi
I am a little south of you in Essex. I had my squash on the bathroom window sill. it was getting so big i decided to just shove it in an old flower bed (i'm a novice can you tell?  :) )
It has no protection and within a week it has now got three flower buds on and grown remarkably.
Fingers crossed it keeps going
Love me, love my veggies

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2011, 14:54 »
I've just lifted the cloches off my courgettes as they are flowering. My pumpkins have been outside for about a month now.

It's a bit of a gamble I suppose but the forcast is mild and wet for my area over the next week so should be ok. I am keeping a close eye on things tho  :unsure:
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

nipper31

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2011, 14:56 »
Not till end of May/beginning of June here...  :unsure:

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2011, 14:57 »
I have 4 squash plants out in the warmest place I have with plastic cloche protection if need be.  The remainder to go out this weekend forecast for night time 7 degrees (East Anglia).  Has anyone else got there stuff out.  Am I risking it?

Normally, no; after last year's late frosts; who knows?  :unsure:

Not sure if you are suggesting that you have no protection available for the remainder of your squashes; if that is the case I'd still recommend hedging your bets by holding them back for a week or so.