Growing Veg In A Small Space HELP - Any Good Books out there or advice?

• 20 Replies

Teen76

• Experienced Member
    • Tina's Plot
Hello all

I've gone from half an allotment to my back garden where I have built raised beds.  I'm beginning to feel a bit overwhelmed and a complete newbie again as I'm realising that I need to learn about spacing in a smaller space.

Do you know of any good books out there or where I can find practical advice on what and how to grow in a smaller space?

I really appreciate any help.

Tina
Teen

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones
John (the site owner's) book:

http://www.allotment-garden.org/book/small-space-growing.php

may be a good place to start.

:)
"They say a snow year's a good year" -- Rutherford.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
and very good it is too - I have a copy and there are things in there that I never knew I would be able to grow  :)
Staffies are softer than you think.

Teen76

• Experienced Member
    • Tina's Plot
I saw that book but thought it was more for container growing.  I have raised beds, not huge admittedly.  Do you think it is worth ago, John's book?  Will it give me ideas about closer spacing etc?

Thanks for the help by the way.  Nice to get a response  :)

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Also search for square foot gardening on this forum and wider.  Amazing what you can fit into small areas with some planning  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Teen76

• Experienced Member
    • Tina's Plot
Thank you Yorkie.  I have quickly started to realised I need to really sit down and plan it all better.  My trouble is I want to grow everything lol

I've learnt there are bush varieties of things and you can get mini veg (especially interested in Brassicas) etc.  I feel quite unsure of what I'm doing, I was never all that confident when I had a lottie, but I had the room to bluff it.  Now I don't.