help with poorly chuck

• 14 Replies

lou-spins

help with poorly chuck
« on: June 08, 2010, 11:29 »
Hi i am new to poultry keeping and have 6, 8 week old chicks which i got frm a reputable breeder, all was going well until yesterday morning i found one of my light sussex all wobbly and struggling to stay awake, she is all fluffed up and really not very well. i spoke to the breeder who suggested it may be coccidiosis and for me to get coxoid which i have added to the water and they are now all drinking it. My poorly chick is being drip fed the water with meds in from a syringe every couple of hours so we can make sure she is drinking some. I am gutted as my first chickens and after two weeks i have a poorly one. Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated   :unsure:

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: help with poorly chuck
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 11:47 »
what feed are the on - I do hope the breeder advised you to feed them on unmedicated feed whilst on the coxoid treatment. You cannot mix coxoid with medicated feed (and most feeds in this country are medicated unless you have organic or small holder rangs).
Staffies are softer than you think.

hillfooter

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2010, 11:52 »
You are cleaning their brooder regularly and disinfecting as well as practising good personal hygene?  Cocci usually causes blood strained droppings.  Did you feed medicated chick crumbs and if so it''s unlikely to be cocci.  There weren't any other indications at hatch such as an unhealed navel were there?  Where are they being kept and is there any possibily of contact with other birds.

Was the incubator thoroughly cleaned and sanitised before you started and any equipment especially second hand stuff?  Were the eggs dirty?  If the sanitation is good and you have practised good hygeine any infection must have been present in the egg and likely come from the parent birds.
All the best
HF
« Last Edit: June 08, 2010, 14:17 by hillfooter »