Good Garlic

• 44 Replies

bluelou

• Experienced Member
Good Garlic
« on: March 02, 2010, 13:06 »
Can anyone suggest a good type of Garlic to plant now, we still are getting a lot of snow and ice.

prakash_mib

Re: Good Garlic
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2010, 14:25 »
surprise surprise...
I bought a white small variety from tescos and planted in october. They are good 6" tall now. Hope it sprouts.
£0.30 is a good price
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2010, 18:00 »
You might be alright with that, prakash mib, but we don't tend to recommend that people grow from supermarket plants.  They tend to be varieties not suited to our climate (i.e. more mediterranean) and can import viruses or disease.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

earthing83

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2010, 18:29 »
It's my first year growing garlic but I have read up on suitable types to plant now and have decided on solent white (advice from books and catalogues!)

craggy

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2010, 19:27 »
You might be alright with that, prakash mib, but we don't tend to recommend that people grow from supermarket plants.  They tend to be varieties not suited to our climate (i.e. more mediterranean) and can import viruses or disease.
never had a problem with sainsbury's basics garlic.

Cazzy

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2010, 19:55 »
I bought Aldi's garlic (the ones sold for planting) and they were mouldy inside, I managed to salvage a few cloves though.

So, I will be buying some from tesco as they sell scottish garlic from the Really Garlicky Co (or some other name thats similar)
What if the Hokey Cokey IS what its all about...

Joolz

• Experienced Member
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2010, 20:38 »