How do I know if my chookie is egg bound

• 6 Replies

chookaburra

How do I know if my chookie is egg bound
« on: November 29, 2009, 07:57 »
 :(     How do I know if my chookie is egg bound please    :blink:   They don't seem to like using their perches so how do I go about encouraging them to use them?
Owned by two tom cats, two chooks and Steptoe xxx

LittleRedHen

• little red hens egg blog
Re: How do I know if my chookie is egg bound
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2009, 16:22 »
This time of year, alot of hens stop laying just because it is dark for a long period of time everyday.  So your hens might not be egg bound.  But if they are, I think a good gentle feel around underneath her will confirm it.  I'm no expert so I would wait for an answer from one of the moderators to make sure! 
When I die I will slide in sideways, a glass of wine in one hand and chocolate in the other, screaming, "Whooo hooo!  What a ride!" as life is to be enjoyed to the fullest!

Foxy

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2009, 20:08 »
:(     How do I know if my chookie is egg bound please    :blink:   They don't seem to like using their perches so how do I go about encouraging them to use them?

Is there any reason you think they may be eggbound?

chookaburra

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2009, 07:11 »
I'm very, very new at this, and a neighbour told me that if the chooks didn't use their roosting perch and only used their nest boxes to sleep in they would become egg bound - they are still very young, but their combs and dangly bits are getting redder daily, so I thought I had better ask folk who were experts rather than the over helpful, non-chookie owners, that I currently have!  Thank you for being so patient in answering my questions.

Is there any reason you think they may be eggbound?

Foxy

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2009, 10:08 »
Ahhh I see! :)