Duck egg incubation questions

• 12 Replies

Parrot

« on: May 12, 2007, 21:42 »
We recently became the proud owners of a group of ducks. We are lucky to have a stretch of river at the bottom of our garden, and we have chicken wired  off the boudary bank and have a stretch of wire either end on the river which is hooked so that we can roll it back across if any leaves and detritus build up with the flow of the river.  The ducks have been relishing the river and it`s a joy to see them bathing and feeding naturally.

We have a pair of call ducks, a pair of black cayugas , three khaki campbell female ducklings, a trio of indian runner ducklings and an ayelsbury female duckling. (We have kept all the ducklings off the water so far).

Apart from on the first day of their arrival, the female cayuga has produced an egg every day so far.  We would like to incubate them and are looking for an incubator.   As a total amateur, my question is , presuming they are fertile,  how long will the eggs store for before we "set" them?  Also, is room temperature a suitable temperature to store then until incubation, and do they need turning whilst they are in storage until incubation?

Many thanks in advance,   Peter.
Spring into Action with BTCV - 1 May - 7 June 2007. www.btcv.org/springintoaction
Help look after your local wildlife and green space - hundreds of fun and friendly eco-events across the UK.

WG.

Re: Duck egg incubation questions
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2007, 21:48 »
Quote from: "Parrot"
We have kept all the ducklings off the water so far
Good plan - they might drown if the flow of the river traps them against the wire.   Also watch out for logs / branches floating past and snagging in the wire.

Can't help with your timing question sorry.  We did keep Khaki Campbells (best layers)  many years ago but they'd disappear off into the wild and come back later with a dozen or so little balls of fluff.

02rlgudgin

river in the garden
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2007, 22:05 »