duck egg incubation worried please help

• 22 Replies

quackers11

duck egg incubation worried please help
« on: March 03, 2012, 15:15 »
hi this is my first time incubating eggs. they are due to hatch the problem is i have not heard any pipping. i have maintained 37.5 degrees humidity has been increased from 50 to 60% stopped turning eggs on day 25. i have candled the eggs and can see 3/4s dark area and an air sack. why is it taking so long? please advise very worried as i dont want to lose any of the  18 eggs

Spana

Re: duck egg incubation worried please help
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 15:28 »
Hi quackers, its a long time since i incubated duck eggs but i'm sure someone will be along to help you.

Lets get a few facts down,

What day are they on now, not all breeds take the same no. of days

Are they all the same breed or mixed

can you see whether they have broken into the air sac or not.

I used to have a lot of trouble hatching call ducks but breeds like silver appleyards managed easily

quackers11

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 15:32 »
they are indian runner ducks were placed in incubator on 5th feb so think day 27 now air sack is in tact. dont want to keep lifting lid.

kegs

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2012, 15:58 »
I have NOT incubated ducklings.  Just checked Katie Thear's book on hatching and it says,
"For most ducks it (hatching) is 28 days." 

It goes on to say, "For hatching, the optimum temperature is 37.0C in the centre of the egg, with an increased humidity of 75%."   

Wait for a bit though and see if someone who has hatched ducklings can give some more advice before adjusting the humidity.

Try not to panic though.

quackers11

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2012, 16:02 »
people are saying keep temp as it is and increase humidity to 60% why is all the info so conflicting

tstainesmoore

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2012, 16:30 »