Complete Newby

• 9 Replies

csarge38

Complete Newby
« on: September 29, 2009, 17:01 »
Downhill and with the wind in the right direction I will be granted an allotment on 6th October 2009.

I am a complete novice at this, albeit eager to learn and would appreciate any guidance with regard to timings, what should I grow and when, how should I have the soil to give me a good start etc.

I appreciate that for the first few months it will all be dig and prepare, dig and prepare but I have no idea about which crops to plant and when to enable me to get the very best out of all year (or at least most of the year) growing.  So many conflicting gems of info.

A basic 'beginners guide' would be very much appreciated.

Regards

Chris

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Complete Newby
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 17:03 »
Hi Chris & welcome.

I think you'll find this part of the site useful:

http://allotment-garden.org/garden_month.php
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

kittiwake

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 17:51 »
The best thing to start with is a list of all the things you like eating (there is no point growing things you dont like).

Once you have done that consider if there are any veg that are hard to get in the shops or unusual varieties you would like to try. I have found some interesting veg at www.realseeds.co.uk.

You will also need to consider what type of soil you have. Whilst it isnt impossible to grow veg suited for particular conditions in unfavourable soil its worth thinking about how you will go about it. eg root veg like carrots and parsnips on very stony ground can cause split roots. A solution might be growing in rauised beds or containers. Veg that like free draining soil wont appreciate waterlooged conditions. Those veg may again need to be grown in raised bed or on mounded up soil.