Aint life grand?

• 7 Replies

lottielearner

Aint life grand?
« on: July 13, 2009, 19:05 »
I am new to all this veg growing malarky having taken on an allotment last September.. wow what have I been missing?? I thought a veg was a veg until I started bringing my own home, they even smell better than the supermarket stuff.
This site has been a godsend, loads of information, inspiration and recipes too! Tonight I have made a big pot of courgette soup all home grown, so a big thanks to all of you on here, most of what I have learnt has been from this site and John's brilliant books! So happy planting one and all, I'm off to soak my aching back!! :D :D :nowink: :D :D
Chuck it in - it won't grow in the packet!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Aint life grand?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2009, 19:09 »
 :D :D :D
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

animal mad

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2009, 20:11 »
i am glad someone else feels the same way, i have just started with my allotment this year and it is brilliant, i have even gone one step further and got some chickens and i love it. could i have the recipe for your soup as i have loads of courgetts to useup, thanks

lottielearner

« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 20:43 »
You are so lucky to have chickens.. I am hoping for that when the job is no more and I have a lot more time to spare.
The recipe I used is actually on this site in the recipe section I just modified it a bit by adding some carrots - guess where they came from??!!  ;) hee hee hee

Green as grass!

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2009, 18:02 »
This is my first year having an allotment too. I talked my husband into helping me at first as it was a lot of heavy digging. He agreed to help until i could manage on my own but now i cant keep him away! Have finally relented and am now calling it 'our' allotment!! Happy days indeed! :D :D

Libby

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2009, 21:26 »