self-seeded potatoes everywhere - question

• 7 Replies

bean there, dug that

self-seeded potatoes everywhere - question
« on: June 22, 2009, 12:59 »
The history of the plot is that it was once huge and got chopped up to create 4 new plots. It would seem that the quarter I've got was the previous plot holders potato patch. The upshot is there are plants appearing all over the show despite it having a jolly good dig over. Apart from the hassle of chasing the plants around with a spade are there any more concerns? I was wondering if there's a chance they could be harbouring disease? And, if so, is there anything I should be doing?  :unsure:

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: self-seeded potatoes everywhere - question
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2009, 13:11 »
I've got some coming in from last year.  I just hoe the tops off. I'm not going to spoil anything else by trying to dig them up.  and I don't think, (but I'm no expert) that if something else is growing above them that any disease would damage whatever it is.

diggerjoe

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2009, 14:04 »
On a posive note - I was glad to see some leftovers produce good green growth in an area that I had manured late last year and intended for beans as we have had cases of the dreaded hormone manure and I had used it and it has infected half a row of spuds else wher on the plot so to see these coming up unaffected was a relief I ve left about three at strategic places to to check but beans seem to be ok so far.

Iain@JBA

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.jbaseedpotatoes.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2009, 18:03 »
All you can do as said above is pull the stems and break them if you want to avoid damage to the rest of the crops. We spot spray them with roundup to kill the growth off.
Visit my website and view my potato blog and videos.

zazen999

« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2009, 18:25 »
Iain - do you grow potatoes in all your beds? If so, how do you know which is new potato and which is old?