broad bean problems

• 4 Replies

ferret51uk

broad bean problems
« on: June 20, 2009, 12:17 »
I have been growing Broad Bean for 23 years with no problems, this year I planted Imerial Green Longpod on the 15th March, they germinated well with plenty of flower which set with beens about an inch long, then nothing, they have been like this for several weeks and are going black, they may have been black before but I might not have noticed. The plants themselves are still heathy, I had a small amount of Black Fly but not a lot. Thanks in advance for any advice. Clive 

Paul Plots

Re: broad bean problems
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2009, 20:13 »
The only thing I can think of would be blackfly but there's most likely someone who knows a great deal better!

I have blackfly on mine - but only recently on first sown batch and they have been cropping well. Second lot have failed to develop beans where blackfly is very heavy but that's only on a few plants out of the total... I've now sprayed them so expect the problem to be under control.

Hopefully someone with better advice will come along soon!  :(

Never keep your wish-bone where your back-bone ought to be.

jaws8

• I used to be indecisive, but now I'm just not sure
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2009, 16:29 »
I think it sounds like thrips. Mine did exactly the same and any pods that did develop were small with black marks on them. There is very little covered on this forum about thrips but the rhs website has a good section on them. I had to destroy my whole crop :( The only thing I have struggled to find out is to how to treat them at an early stage so it will be interesting if you get any further advice.

ferret51uk

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2009, 19:40 »