why dont suppliers tell you

• 12 Replies

Sue32

• Experienced Member
why dont suppliers tell you
« on: June 07, 2009, 23:22 »
This site is great for TRUE info.  but why don't seed suppliers tell you all you need to know - they are each selective.  I'm a complete novice going mad searching books and every suppliers web site for the same variety and piecing together how tall, when they mature, how to care, support,  and how to harvest.    ???

trying to be green except when blue

oldbean

• Experienced Member
Re: why dont suppliers tell you
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 23:30 »
This site is great for TRUE info. 

Ok as long as it's not mine  :).

The problem with giving size information for example is it is so variable. I can always grow anaemic specimens, but I don't worry about having prize winning specimens, or if they have blotchy leaves. They will survive, and they taste ok. That's all I am after.

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 00:16 »
There's only so much room on a packet and it's needed to promote the seeds. They can then sell you the books to learn the rest. If you check the packet back, there is always basic information. But as oldbean says, so many other factors come into play such as your soil type, amount of water, type of feed, climate, topography, pest problems, disease problems, etc all affect the outcome. With basic information of approximate size, when to seed and growth time, you can then juggle the other factors. The rest you simply have to learn as we all did  :D

Rangerkris

• My pic's
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 07:49 »
I think it great that they dont tell you evey thing it encourage people to talk to one and other and explore forums like this
Kris
Thanks
Kris

BrianK

• Experienced Member
    • melton constable village
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 08:16 »