Tomato seedlings struggling

• 7 Replies

mad mark

• Experienced Member
Tomato seedlings struggling
« on: May 06, 2009, 09:51 »
I planted tomato seeds about two months ago in paper pots I made and they are just struggling to get going. We have had them in the house until last weekend when my oh decided she wanted her living room back and so they are in the plastic greenhouse thingy. Any tips to get them moving? They are about two and a half inches high and very straggly things. As you can see I am a novice with tomato seeds......Thanks in advance... :)
When is that sun going to come out? 8)
Mad Mark

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
Re: Tomato seedlings struggling
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 16:00 »
just the usual things really. Make sure they are not too wet or dry. It should be warm enough in the greenhouse now. Are they in individual pots of the right size? Hope they get going soon.

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 17:51 »
And if they've been in the house all this time, be careful about putting them in the stronger light of a greenhouse. It's the same as hardening off....up to 1/2 hr per day for the first few days, then slowly increase the exposure. If you neglect this part, they'll dry right out and shrivel, which you don't want. With the coming warmth they'll perk up a lot as toms are tropical plants. When you're not actively hardening off the plants, put them in a shadier area to recover.

Parsnip

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2009, 17:58 »
I planted tomato seeds about two months ago in paper pots I made and they are just struggling to get going. We have had them in the house until last weekend when my oh decided she wanted her living room back and so they are in the plastic greenhouse thingy. Any tips to get them moving? They are about two and a half inches high and very straggly things. As you can see I am a novice with tomato seeds......Thanks in advance... :)
When is that sun going to come out? 8)