help needed on raised bedding

• 9 Replies

dawnj

help needed on raised bedding
« on: April 17, 2009, 16:33 »
Hi.........I'm in the process in completing the 1st stages of raised beds they are built and now need filled with top soil and??????? this is where I'm stuck, we have been given bags of old manure too, I'm growing the norm, cabbage,leeks, onions,sweetcorns,beens, peas and so on, three beds in total. When trying to do my reserch on the internet to find out what else should go in I read something different every time, I would appreciate some good advice on what and how much should go in my beds to get a good crop.  ::)

thanks

shifty

Re: help needed on raised bedding
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 17:13 »
Hit
 This is my second year at it. Last year I put a raised bed in and had a great crop of tatties (desiree ), beetroot and carrots. I'm not an expert at this game, infact i'm a million miles from it but if I were you I would get tatties, onions, carrots in. I also grew alot of stuff in containers. Broad beens and peas were truly awsome. Get them in and have fun watching them grow and then scoff them, doesnt get any better!!!! :D

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2009, 17:21 »
I filled mine with a mixture of topsoil, sharp sand, compost, manure and any used compost from pots.  I used what I could afford at the time.  You don't need to fill them right up to the top as you will be adding to them over the years.

Peas and beans love manure, root crops hate it.
Cheese makes everything better.

peapod

• Pea Goddess
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2009, 18:30 »
oops sorry dawn i moved your other post here too....I'll delete it pronto
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

Mr McGregor

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2009, 18:09 »