help growing your own in pots

• 5 Replies

bunch29

« on: January 02, 2009, 19:30 »
Hi everyone
I have a very small garden and started growing my own in pots last year while like alot of people I wait anxiostly for an allotment, so I am quite new to this can anyone tell me what I could be doing at the moment either bringing seeds on or straight to pot any help or advice would be great also tips on what will do well in pots.

Thanks

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2009, 20:04 »
Hi Bunch29,

Most things can be grown in pots if they are big enough, and you feed and water enough.  I'd avoid maincrop onions (as opposed to salad ones), and tall things like sweetcorn, raspberries etc.

You'll probably get smaller and fewer crops than you would in the ground, but it's certainly worth a try.

As space is limited, I'd decide what you like eating, and what is difficult or expensive to buy in the shops.  Spuds are easy but it's a small yield per planter.

I'd probably start with plants such as beans (dwarf or climbing), perhaps a courgette, peas, carrots, small leeks, salad leaves, tomatoes, the list goes on.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Elcie

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2009, 10:05 »
Hi Bunch, I am lucky in that I got an allotment last year although it is very small!  I have used the space inbetween the raised beds to put pots and it worked brilliantly and looked great too!

Last year I grew dwarf runner beans, potatoes, salad leaves, herbs, lettuce, turnip and radishes in pots.  I am planning on expanding this next season.

I currently have carrots growing from a thread a while back about overwintering carrots and they seem to be doing ok, if a little slow, but what can we expect in this weather!