Growing herbs in pots - a few Q.s

• 2 Replies

AdrianL

Growing herbs in pots - a few Q.s
« on: May 18, 2009, 18:59 »
Please bear with me, as I am a total novice and need an idiot's guide to anything gardening-related ...

I have some large pots in our backyard and would like to grow herbs in them, specifically: rosemary, basil, oregano, parsley, sage, thyme and mint. The round pots are 12-18inch diameter and about the same in height and the rectangular ones about 4x8x24.

So a few questions:

1. The pots have had plants in them which have died from neglect. I think the compost in them is soil-based, although I'm not sure how to tell? Will it be low on nutrients now anyway? Is it worth me clearing them out and starting afresh? I have nowhere to throw the soil, and it seems a bit wrong to 'throw away' soil...

2. If I do need to start afresh, will John Innes no.3 be ok for potting young herb plants? (there's a bag of it here).

3. The plants: was going to head down to Homebase - what do I need to watch out for when choosing these plants?

4. If I need to plant a couple of the herbs together, which will sit next to eachother well and need less space?

5. Lastly, any particular tips on potting, placing, and caring for them?

I realise there's a hell of a lot there, so any answers at all would be much appreciated.

Ta.

barney rubble

• We are Barney and Rubble and we love digging
Re: Growing herbs in pots - a few Q.s
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 19:37 »
I'd be growing a separate herb in each pot if you can and have enough pots - if not and can afford it, buy beg or borrow some more pots or cut down on your choices.