F1 Seeds

• 22 Replies

anti

F1 Seeds
« on: December 04, 2008, 20:58 »
Right, as you're all aware I am new to this stuff, I've been reading up and planning and we move in soon so will be time to start digging, one question that's been on the tip of my tongue though is about F1 seeds, I gather they are some sort of hybrid seeds?  Is it forced hybrid, or what?  What's general consensus?

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
F1 Seeds
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2008, 21:02 »
It's not a consensus, which is based on opinion, it's a matter of fact!

Rather than try and explain and do a lot of typing, have a look at this!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F1_hybrid
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

mikem

• Experienced Member
F1 Seeds
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2008, 21:16 »
Quote from: "DD."

Having looked at the above as it says "F1 stands for Filial 1, the first filial generation seeds/plants or animal offspring resulting from a cross mating of distinctly different parental types. "

Are my son and daughter F1 hybrids as my wife is distinctly different to myself!  :)  :)

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
F1 Seeds
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 21:18 »
Quote from: "mikem"

Having looked at the above as it says "F1 stands for Filial 1, the first filial generation seeds/plants or animal offspring resulting from a cross mating of distinctly different parental types. "

Are my son and daughter F1 hybrids as my wife is distinctly different to myself!  :)  :)

:lol: yep
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

AndyRVTR

F1 Seeds
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2008, 21:24 »
LOL  :D  :D  :D

anti

F1 Seeds
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2008, 21:24 »