Unwell Pullet

• 6 Replies

goose 68

Unwell Pullet
« on: November 19, 2008, 16:57 »
I am a novice poultry keeper and have recently purchased 5 blackrock pullets at 28 weeks old. 3 days ago I noticed one pullett was isolating herself and was not looking well. Tonight on locking the birds up I have noticed she has been pecked above the tail feathers and is bleeding. Is it routine to remove her from the pen and try to help her recover?

Vember

Unwell Pullet
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 17:03 »
Hi Goose
Welcome to the Hen House :D

Purple spray is your best bet, you can get it from most farm supply places. Chickens are attracted to red so will keep pecking at her.

It might be best to seperate her until you can get some purple spray, give her a good examination to check that everything else is ok.
Things to check are eye's bright, no wheezing or sneezing, have a look at the feather area around her vent to check that there are no lice etc..
Also see what her poops look like :)

Have they started laying yet?

Sarah :D

Foxy

Unwell Pullet
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 19:26 »
Hi Goose just a thought to add to Vembers post -is she being pecked around her vent or her back?
The reason I ask is sometimes hens will peck vents if they are prolapsed and you mentioned she is looking unwell, has she laid recently?
Also the most common reasons for feather pecking is boredom and once started a difficult habit to break.
Have they got enough room in their run? Recommended absolute minumum is 1msq per bird for the run

goose 68

Unwell Pullet
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2008, 14:07 »
Quote from: "Foxy"
Hi Goose just a thought to add to Vembers post -is she being pecked around her vent or her back?
The reason I ask is sometimes hens will peck vents if they are prolapsed and you mentioned she is looking unwell, has she laid recently?
Also the most common reasons for feather pecking is boredom and once started a difficult habit to break.