Bally Fruit Flies in my compost

• 7 Replies

ness

• Experienced Member
« on: February 15, 2007, 21:56 »
Hello
I have been composting for a few years now but had to stop last summer because of blinking fruit flies, they fester in my compost then all migrate en mass to my kitchen.
I then started composting again in winter figuring the little blighters would be dead but this mild winter has meant they are still in evidence biding their time til they can invade again. :?
Is there any way I can get rid of them without damaging the other necessary fauna.
Thanks
Ness x

muntjac

« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2007, 22:55 »
leave it uncovered ,i only get them in my bins when the lids are on not in my tanks
still alive /............

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2007, 00:39 »
Hi Ness, I get fruit flies in my compost too, but that's because I'm a lazy composter. I let it do its thing by itself, no turning. I'm told that if I pulled out and turned over my compost 3-4 times a year that the sheer heat of the composting process would kill and or eliminate flies. It's something to think about. And please, no chemical formulations on this from the science mob  :lol:   :lol:

beansticks

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2007, 07:52 »
I dont get fruit flies,but do get whitefly usually from brassica waste material,however i have found a sprinkling of lime usually does the trick,keeps the compost sweet too.

Annie

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2007, 09:55 »
Last year around here seemed to be a bad one  for flies in general.For fruit flies in the compost bins a good layer of grass seems to damp them down but regular turning is the best solution but I am a lazy composter!

Eristic

• Experienced Member
    • http://downtheplot.com/index.php
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2007, 10:53 »