Am i too fussy

• 15 Replies

Jo-n-Neil

Am i too fussy
« on: October 13, 2008, 18:13 »
Im quite new to chooks but i keep getting told off on the plot by another chicken owner, and a visitor to the plot (dont ask) who has chooks. They both keep on at me saying i clean them out to much etc etc. I poo pick every day and scrub the hen house out every week - 2 week depending on how it looks, i check the run etc and make sure they have fresh stuff to scratch through. They got corn as a treat in the afternoon and then i call up to check and lock them in at dusk. I enjoy doing this and have been quite ill recently and daft as it sounds they have given me a bit of purpose on the road to recovery. So when i asked them how often they cleaned theirs out the answer they both gave me was couple of times a year.  :shock:

Am i too fussy/picky or just plain daft for doing all this?

Jo xx

FRUITFULL

Am i too fussy
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2008, 18:16 »
i think you are doing a great job
i havent got chooks yet but they will be our babies and we will be just like you.
brilliant job!

naturesparadise

Am i too fussy
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2008, 18:20 »
there is no rule saying you have to clean your chickens out once a week or every two weeks

doing it the way you are just means your chickens are very clean
and that is good for them

so just ignore them and do it the way you are

Jo-n-Neil

Am i too fussy
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2008, 18:20 »
aww thank you. I do treat them as pets really i suppose i shouldnt but im silly daft with animals. They are supplying me well with eggs anyway.  

I have a very springy spaniel and a collie X Alsation and we all have a cuddle as well which makes non doggy people recoil in horror. :?

FRUITFULL

Am i too fussy
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2008, 18:27 »