Hi everyone

• 18 Replies

matilda duck

Hi everyone
« on: September 06, 2008, 21:32 »
Hi what a brilliant site this is....so friendly.    I am new to this as you will probably tell.  I had 4 ducks in July... Matilda, jemima, bob the builder( my little girl is only 3) and jeremy ( think top gear my lad is 7).  I brought them as Khaki cambells I think someone saw me coming!!! they are 4 girls, again 1 is a lad. They are just so funny I cannot believe how much they have changed our life!!  We are now getting chickens and have converted the shed this will be their new home.........any idea of what would be the best? we would like nice chickens as the ducks are very nervous and wont come anywhere near us... thanks for taking the time :D

chickchick

Hi everyone
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 22:01 »
welcome matilda duck!
ha ha you have the chicken bug too, its very addictive isnt it?!!
our 3 led to 3 more and im thinking of getting some more!!!
the friendliest i was told are isa browns/warrens, but my amber is quite feisty!!
my belle blue is a lovely girl and my light sussex, actually all of them are lovely, just depends on whos boss!! amber is top of our pecking order!!
this probably hasnt helped much, but good luck, we love it!!

poultrygeist

Hi everyone
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2008, 10:57 »
Hello matilda. Welcome in.  :)

Can't advise on chicken breeds. We only have Amberlinks and they're pretty feisty when they want to be.  :)

Sounds like you'll be getting some fertile duck eggs before too long. Are you going to let a few hatch ??

Rob 8)

Kate and her Ducks

Hi everyone
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2008, 13:03 »
Welcome to the forums!!!

I too have a Matilda and a Jemima but they are white Campbells and I agree pretty nervous.
Love mine and I hope you have fun with the chickens.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

matilda duck

Hi everyone
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2008, 15:58 »