Sugar snap peas flowering already ?!

• 12 Replies

Annad83

Sugar snap peas flowering already ?!
« on: April 19, 2014, 19:03 »
Is this normal? They are about 30cm high...
Anna, enthusiastic amateur from the herts/Essex boarder!

gobs

Re: Sugar snap peas flowering already ?!
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 13:59 »
I do not grow them, but it does not sound normal.

More like something dwarfed and flowering in its misery. However, I'm by no means an expert on them. :D

What variety are they? how tall are they supposed to get? When did you sow?
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

Auntiemogs

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2014, 15:52 »
I have no idea if it's normal, but I'm salivating just thinking about them!   :tongue2:  Are they in a greenhouse/PT?  Hope you get a crop from them, they are one of my fave's.  :D
I would rather live in a world
where my life is surrounded by mystery
than live in a world so small that my mind could comprehend it...✿~ Harry Emerson Fosdick

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2014, 16:00 »
It may be normal for where you are Annad83, but as ever with no location in your personal forum profile we don't know where that is!

I'm trying sugarsnaps in my GH this year in the hope of avoiding pea thrips, which ruined some of last year's outdoor crop - they're about 2' tall at the moment but will grow to about 7' if they perform the same as outdoors (will start flowering at 3-4' IIRC)

Yours may be an entirely different, and much more compact variety of course.  :unsure:
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

JimB

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2014, 17:40 »

Here in Gloucester I have just sown mine,about the normal time as usual!