Non Brassica Rotation Plan Advice Needed

• 11 Replies

spartus117

Non Brassica Rotation Plan Advice Needed
« on: February 12, 2014, 20:46 »
HI

I received an allotment last year and have spent most of my time clearing and building raised beds ect so i am new to allotments and this year is my first growing season.
i have x 3 beds for my permanent crops and i have.. x 8 16 ft x 4ft Raised beds all of which have been dug over, covered for the winter ,deweeded and ready to go

I am currently trying to create a Four year crop Rotation plan

i have done some research through websites and i have managed to cobble together a individual crop rotation plan loosly based on the examples i have seen about.
I am not a fan of Brassicas and plan to grow none. the plan i have cobbled together is like this

year 1               year 2              year 3                year 4

plot 1      potatoes           legumes            onions               Roots
               followed by        followed by      followed by        followed by
               no treatment     no treatment    Manure              Manure

plot 2      onions              potatoes           Legumes            Roots
               followed by      followed by        followed by        followed by
               manure            no Treatment     No Treatemnt     manure

plot 3      Roots              Onions                Potatoes            Legumes
               followed by     followed by         followed by         followed by
               Manure           Manure               No treatment      No Treatment

Plot 4     legumes             Roots               Onions                 Potatoes
              followed by        followed by      followed by           followed by
              No Treatment    Manure             Manure                 No treatment

this rotation plan would be mirrored again so it would be like zone 1 x 4 beds zone 2 x 4 beds