no dig gardening hints tips and comments please.

• 43 Replies

Madame Cholet

• Location: Thrapston=Home & garden Lotty=Ringstead East Northants
  • remember you're a womble
no dig gardening hints tips and comments please.
« on: November 19, 2013, 19:59 »
I'm relatively new to this, converting as we speak can we chat about it in more depth please.
Diary at- http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=85680.75

Comments at- http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=85681.15

To good friends, good food and dirty hands

Underground overground wombling free

goodtogrow

• Experienced Member
  • Less is More
    • stirruphoes
Re: no dig gardening hints tips and comments please.
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2013, 21:05 »
Yes we can Madame!  Welcome to the sunlit uplands of happiness!  No-dig is the default option - you've gotta look hard for reasons to dig these days - how many more books have to be written on it before folk wake up???

Welcome aboard!
No-one has a monopoly of knowledge, nor wisdom

pigguns

• Mitcham, South London
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2013, 21:14 »
There's lots of info if you use search facility on here, or read the Ecodolly gardeners diary (thanks Angela!). 

I've used both methods in the past, thing is I just can't get my head around growing over a 'compost heap' of layers which by it's nature is a slug sanctuary, and you don't use slug pellets on your compost heap do you?

......so for tender plants slugs like, I don't use it.  Or for brassicas.  Good for courgettes/squash (I used lasagne beds this year over cardboard, over couch grass as a quick fix on a new lottie)- but then maybe that's just me... ???

Madame Cholet

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2013, 21:42 »
My veg area 10 pole is all converted into 4' beds.joined on  across the back is a 10 pole forest garden work in progress planted with friut trees and bushes just starting to plan the gound layer.