Borlotti Beans-hints & tips?

• 18 Replies

Becky-Lou

Borlotti Beans-hints & tips?
« on: January 02, 2013, 20:42 »
Firstly, Happy New Year all!

Last year I grew dwarf borlotti beans (3 plants) on my Lincolnshire plot but only managed a meagre harvest of two meals-worth of beans.  However, they were absolutely delicious and I'd love to have another go this year.  Does anyone have any growing tips? 
I'm quite new to allotments-2013 will be my second year- so any help would be appreciated!

Many thanks everyone,
Becky

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Borlotti Beans-hints & tips?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 20:54 »
Two meals out of three plants isn't bad Becky-Lou  :)  I think you just need to plant more and if space is an issue, the climbing borlotti give a big crop for very little space  :)

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 21:04 »
I got two meals out of about 6 climbing bean plants last year  >:(

Congratulations on your success!!

It was quite a year for beans ...

Anyway, they are hungry plants so give them a good dollop of manure / compost etc when you plant, keep them well watered (not a problem last year!!) and feed them regularly.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2013, 21:05 by Yorkie »
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

BabbyAnn

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 21:04 »
I make trenches over winter/early spring and added compostables (peelings, tea bags etc) and covered over with soil then left the bed until late May/early June before sowing direct.  You only grew 3 plants so 2 meals worth was probably good going - I sow about 30 or more seeds roughly 4-6 inches apart in rows above the trenches (dwarf variety)