Autumn Rasps vs Summer Rasps

• 11 Replies

Baldy

• Hey Ho Lets Grow!
Autumn Rasps vs Summer Rasps
« on: May 10, 2014, 18:55 »
I grow (or try to grow) a lot of soft fruit on my plot - probably about 1/3 given over to rasps/strawbs/gooseberry etc.
I'm contemplating reducing the amount given over to raspberries because of space/weeding/their determination to spread. It seems to me that my autumn ones are easier to manage - they don't appear to spread as readily and are easier to cut back and so on. So, removing most of my summer canes is likely what I'll do - but am I right about how they spread? I inherited the autumn canes a yeare and a bit ago so don't know the variety nor whether they will suddenly turn triffid...

Cheers,
Balders

pigguns

• Mitcham, South London
Re: Autumn Rasps vs Summer Rasps
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2014, 19:08 »
I'm not an expert here, but I found loads of runners popping up around my gooseberries today, I thought I'd taken them all out last season and they are deffo Autumn ones. 

I dug all my Autumn ones out (and left the Summer ones in) in winter from the plot and took them home because I found I couldn't get to the plot quickly enough in Autumn damp weather to harvest and they got mildew really quickly.  I hardly had a crop although there was loads of fruit, whereas my garden I can dash down everyday to pick (IF I can get there before the kids do!)

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2014, 20:49 »
I'm not an expert here, but I found loads of runners popping up around my gooseberries today, I thought I'd taken them all out last season and they are deffo Autumn ones.