Eglu Classic ....opinions please

• 22 Replies

arty

Eglu Classic ....opinions please
« on: June 02, 2013, 06:30 »
I am a newbie to chicken keeping approx 5 weeks now ...we bought an Eglu Classic yesterday off ebay as  I wanted a plastic coop to be able to keep it clean and free from red mite. My chooks spent their first night in it. they had previously been in a shed overnight. What are people's opinions on the eglu classic? I was worried it might be a bit small for my 4 chickens and should I take out the small roosting bars so that they have a choice where they roost in there they just seemed to be scrabbling round in there when I shut the door. Plus there were no eggs in there this morning whereas normally there would be three or four eggs in the shed. is it because it's new to them ?
thanks Arty

JaK

• Happy half plot.
Re: Eglu Classic ....opinions please
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2013, 08:55 »
The eglu classic is perfect for 4 chickens (as long as they have plenty of space during the day). I had two of them  in use last year and thought they were great, the chickens take up to a week to get used to the plastic roosting bars, but they do settle down, leave the roosting bars in there . I found the eglu's very easy to clean and cheap to use too as I lined the tray with old news paper.

arty

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2013, 10:39 »
thanks for that ...that is really helpful. mine has the wooden roosting bars which I have just emailed Omlet to see if the plastic ones will fit. They have the 2metre eglu run attached and attached to that is another run another 2 metres so 4 metres which I hope is enough.
thanks for your reply..arty

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2013, 18:53 »
Four square meters is probably a minimum for the amount of birds you have.  If they are young they will grow bigger and can get bored easily which will lead to squabbles.  If you can let them out for part of the day that would help.   ;)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!