Ducklings- help please

• 4 Replies

dkelly

Ducklings- help please
« on: June 21, 2007, 20:31 »
I had two ducklings hatch 3 weeks ago and unfortunatly one has been taken by i think a magpie, my husband heard a comotion and when he went out one duckling was gone and the mothers feathers were all over the floor. That was 2 & half weeks ago so the other duckling i have been keeping in doors as much as possible to avoid the same happening.  i am new to having ducks so am devastated that i dint know this could happen and feel i should have been able to do soething. i wonder if anyone can advise me on the best thing i can do as i know it is important for the duckling to still mix with the other ducks but i dont want him hurt as just this morning he was attacked and had blood on his head when i went out into the garden, a magpie was nearby when i went out.  can anyone suggest how i should handle this? do you think it is a magie doing the damage or something else? my garden is not massive and i have neighbours g :cry: ardens backing onto mine. i live in manchester.
DEANA

MontyTom

• Experienced Member
Ducklings- help please
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2007, 20:39 »
hi.  sorry to hear about duckling.  buy/lend an air rifle and shoot every magpie you see (safely).  they will soon get the message, if any are left!  good luck

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Ducklings- help please
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2007, 20:51 »
Sounds very much like a maggie.

Magpie's are a scourge on poultry keepers, Like Monty says shoot them all, not long ago their was a post on here where they were going into a hen coup and stealing eggs  :evil:

Sad fact of life is a duckling or any other young bird, is fair game to them and crows

Welcome to the forum by the way.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Parrot

Ducklings- help please
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2007, 21:13 »