Low PH Soil

• 8 Replies

Manteiga

Low PH Soil
« on: July 31, 2012, 22:58 »
Hello All,

Appologies for not joining in earlier discussions (this season lurker), but not sure if there is anything I can contribute of value.

I have taken on an allotment this year and am a complete novice. Needless to say, I have had a terrible year so far, with virtually none of my seeds germinating (I have 2 lettuce and 6 parsnips). Basically, it is a barron wasteland. I have spent many hours battling with the weeds, and now I have a completely weed free allotment (for a couple of days). It is also nearly completely vegetable free.

So, as my first allotment year has been a cropping disaster, and as only weeds wanted to grow; I borrowed a fairly expensive PH tester and found that the soil is only very marginally above 5 ph. Is there anything I can grow to raise the PH of the soil or is it a case of ground lime the only way to go?

Also, should I leave it as bare earth over the winter or is there anything else I should do?

Thanks
Manteiga

solway cropper

Re: Low PH Soil
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 23:26 »
Are you sure the pH test is accurate?

If you can identify the type of weeds growing that can be a useful indicator of the soil condition.

What was the allotment before it became an allotment, if you see what I mean.

Manteiga

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2012, 23:38 »
Pretty sure, used the tester in lots of different areas of the allotment, and in another garden (in different part of country). Most weeds are thistles, wild parsnips (I guess), bindweed and nettles.  There are others but I don't know what they are.

Prior to becomming an allotment it was abandoned land in the corner of a farmers field- 25 years previously it was an allotment. I am the first person to try to cultivate it since then.

peapod

• Pea Goddess
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2012, 01:11 »
Nettles are an indicator of acid soil, but if course over the space of a plot it could vary wildly.