New chickens - advice needed.

• 9 Replies

kyz1981

New chickens - advice needed.
« on: July 28, 2012, 16:12 »
I am new to chicken keeping but I am lucky enough to have recently moved to a house with a Big secure garden. I Have an omlet cube with an attached 3 meter run but plan to let them free range pretty much from 6.30 am until dusk.

I have read and been told that I am supposed to look them in the coop with a run for a week so that they know where home is, but I am getting 6 chickens a mixed flock of LF but all from the same breeder so all vaxed/wormed    - 2 of which a cochins so  big lady's, I feel really mean and cruel keeping them all in a run of 3 meters for a week (although omlet state you can fit 10 in ). They arrive on Tuesday.

What are my options to ensure happy hens and a smooth settling in period? I have some chicken netting that I could put round the run therefore increasing the size but still containing them- would this be ok for a few weeks until I can let them have the run of the garden.

And Should I worm them all when I get them, I have some Verm-X Herbal Pellets should I start them on these, but I am aware that these only help but not de-worm them fully?

Any advice gratefully received.

grinling

Re: New chickens - advice needed.
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2012, 17:13 »
Is the run 3x3m, if so should be fine. Will the cube take 4 hens and 2 large hens?
I trained mine to the shake of a corn pot.
How secure is the garden from fox and rats?

Taylor40

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2012, 17:49 »
My lot had the run of the garden after only a couple days. The first few days I only let them out when I was around to keep an eye on them. I also used a corn pot to get them back. I went out and put them to bed but soon I was popping out to "tuck them in" and they had already sorted themselves. It's surprising how quickly they make their coop home..  :)

andy46

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2012, 18:08 »