Any ripe tomatoes

• 28 Replies

the Kergan

• Experienced Member
Any ripe tomatoes
« on: July 24, 2012, 22:58 »
My tommy plants are doing very well at the moment and have some nice large tomatoes on them and plenty of them as well. They are still very green at the moment and this is my first year with a greenhouse so not sure what to expect what with the rubbish weather this year that has slowed things down.

Has anyone got any ripe tomatoes yet?

I hear that hanging banana skins on the trusses can help set things off, I know how that works due to the gasses the skins give off but has anyone tried it and with what results.

Thanks.
"Your first job is to prepare the soil.  The best tool for this is your neighbor's motorized garden tiller.  If your neighbor does not own a garden tiller, suggest that he buy one."

Lardman

Re: Any ripe tomatoes
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 23:01 »
I picked 1 sungold today, It's been on the plant so long the skin was very thick.   :mad:

shokkyy

• Mishka
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 23:03 »
I've had a single ripe Gartenperle, but like yours it had been on the plant too long so it was yucky. Now the sun has started shining, and after a BFB feed for all the yellowing leaves, the plants have suddenly perked up and put off gazillions of flowers so hopefully they'll be burying me in tomatoes soon.

Ian_A

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 23:07 »
picked just over 1kg of ferline and have skinned and frozen 8 marmandes. Others coming along - blight-willing!! And will freeze about half to use in soups, stews and the like later in the year and early next year

spuriousmonkey

• tomatosilo
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2012, 06:14 »
my cherry tomatoes just started to ripen. (sweet 100). I ate 2 and around 8 more of them are now turning colour.

They are in a semi protected environment and in pots (most in too small pots even). They vary in height from 1.5m to 2m.