Christmas Turkey

• 33 Replies

kegs

Christmas Turkey
« on: July 03, 2012, 13:42 »
A few questions please.

Is it too late to raise a couple of turkeys for Christmas (I would want to incubate them rather than buy poults)?

What would give the best flavour?

How much room would 2 turkeys need and if I regularly worm them would they be ok in a run with 4 hybrids?

What size shed would they need?

How should turkeys be dispatched? (I've got a wall mounted dispatcher but think this might be too small for a turkey?)

I think that's it and as you can tell I'm a complete novice!    So if there's anything important I've missed off please let me know.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: Christmas Turkey
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 15:01 »
Hi Kegs, we are picking up our day olds at the end of this month, but they sell day olds right up until September.

5 months is the ideal age to cull them for C********* !!

You don't worm the turkeys, but keep the chickens well wormed.  Chickens can pass on black head to the turkeys.  Can you not keep them separate?  I do know a couple of people who keep both together, but your husbandry has to be really good to avoid the blackhead.

We've never kept ours together.

As to the wall dispatcher.  It is like my one. It is strong enough for a turkey, but would be best if you have 2 people doing it.  One wielding the dispatcher handle the other holding the turkey still.  Pillow case comes in handy to help stop the wings flapping, as boy, do they flap!  And they hurt!

When you bring the handle down sharp, give it an extra push and you will hear the neck break.  If in doubt, keep the handle down and pull the turkey's neck out a little and upward.  

I did that once to make sure as I was worried I may not have killed it properly.

as to room.  they need at least 1sq metre each in the coop and at least 3sq metres of run each, but more if you can manage it.  They will also fly over a 6ft fence given the chance!